Digital library   

more information



Present - The contemporary Slovak parliament and parliamentarism

The National Council of the Slovak Republic is the sole constitutional and legislative body of the Slovak Republic. It is the body of state authority and the status of other state bodies in Slovakia is derived from its primary status. Members of the Parliament are elected by universal, equal and direct suffrage by secret ballot. There are 150 Members of Parliament elected for a four-year term.     more information

Rules of Procedure

History - The history of Slovak parliamentarism

Even though the Slovak Republic is a relatively young state and its sovereign parliamentary tradition had only started developing in the 20th century, the implementation of the idea of democratic representation of Slovaks has deeper roots. The tradition of current Slovak parliamentarianism goes back to the historical first Slovak National Council. It had been constituted on 16 September 1848 at an assembly of 2007 people in Vienna.    more information